California Native Plant Society

Rare Plant Program

Regional Plant Status Review Groups

The plant status review groups are divided into seven regions of the state (following those in The Jepson Manual). If you wish to be involved in a regional review group, please send an email to with your name, affiliation, and the name of the region you wish to participate in.

Central West (CW): Includes the central coast area of California, from Marin County in the north down through the south coast ranges, including much of Santa Barbara County in the south.

East Side / Deserts (ES/D): Includes the east side of the Sierra Nevada Mountains from Mono County south through all of the Mojave and Sonoran deserts.

Great Valley (GV): Includes all of the Sacramento and San Joaquin valleys.

Modoc Plateau (MP): Includes all of the Modoc Plateau area of California.

North West (NW): Includes all of northwestern California, from Sonoma and Napa counties in the south, north to the Oregon border, including the North Coast ranges, the Klamath Range, and the Cascades.

Sierra Nevada (SN): Includes the Sierra Nevada range from Plumas County in the north to the Tehachapis in the south.

South West (SW): Includes all of southwestern (non-desert) California, from coastal Santa Barbara County in the north to the Baja California border, including the Western Transverse and Peninsular ranges.


Copyright © 1999-2019 California Native Plant Society. All rights reserved. Contact Us | Privacy